Tree Iterator – Animate GH Data Trees

forest_hike_icon_500new

Dear “Diary”,

I know it has a while since I last wrote. But I recently had a great opportunity to apply part of my research to actual build geometry, and for that I am grateful.

In the meanwhile I thought i should share in the form of a .gha assembly a routine that I use frequently to animate data that get into my hands from grasshopper definitions that use Hoopsnake and Anemone(Lately). The main issue with these data sets is that while these two add-ons are running, due to their intrinsic characteristics, is kind of difficult to animate their wonderful iterative and recursive formations.

Canvas at 00;48;58

So, to be brief, what ever formation you create with these two looping tools, you can now easily post-animate it and iterate through the various steps of the solution.

The component is fairly simple to use. Data as input and a few toggles for different options of iterating. It can either work with a timer or by a slider. You will find it under the tab “Extra”

I will post the gha file and an example here and I will also include it in the Milkbox group of the Grasshopper3d forum.

Please bear in mind that this component is probably full of bugs, which I plan to resolve in the future.There is a slight change to include a stable version of this routine in the next version of Nudibranch. Please use it “as is”, it does not come with warranties. Please give credit where credit is due according to the CC license of this website.

Suggestion, comments, criticism are always welcome.

Leave a Reply

